Top Ten Books I Wouldn’t Mind Santa Bringing Me

Rx

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish!

Top 10 Books I Wouldn’t Mind Santa Bringing Me

grimm10. A Tale Dark and Grimm by Adam Gidwitz

I haven’t read this series yet, but it sounds creepy and gross and awesome. Definitely something that would have appeal for my middle school students.

And me.

.

vortex9. Vortex by S.J. Kincaid

I’m in the mood for a good sci-fi adventure, and this sequel to Insignia may be just what I’m looking for. Plus my library doesn’t carry this book (!!!).

.

.

book of blood and shadow hc8. The Book of Blood and Shadow by Robin Wasserman

Wasserman’s The Waking Dark creeped me out like no other book has this year. I’ve seen mixed reviews for The Book of Blood and Shadow but it sounds like something that would be right up my alley.

.

Six_Gun_Snow_White_by_Catherynne_M_Valente_200_3117. Six-Gun Snow White by Catherynne Valente

Read this synopsis on Goodreads and I dare anyone to not want to read this novella. Plus it’s Catherynne Valente, who is amazing.

.

.

Doctor_Sleep6. Doctor Sleep by Stephen King

I’d forgotten how much I love Stephen King’s writing until I read Joyland not too long ago. I didn’t read much in high school [insert cringe] but I do remember reading The Shining and being both awed and completely freaked out. Also, I know my husband will actually read Doctor Sleep, so I’ll be able to read and talk to him about a book…for once. 🙂

golem5. The Golem and the Jinni by Helene Wecker

My last foray into adult fantasy, The Night Circus, was pretty successful, so I’ll be giving this one a try at some point. Plus it’s gotten rave reviews.

.

.

dreamland social club4. Dreamland Social Club by Tara Altebrando

I recently read Roomies by Sara Zarr and Tara Altebrando, and I loved it. I really liked Tara Altebrando’s writing voice and style, so I definitely plan to read something else she’s written. Dreamland Social Club sounds like a good place to start.

.

hounded3. Hounded: The Lowdown on Life with Three Dachshunds by Matt Ziselman

This memoir caught my eye because I have a mini-dachshund. And I feel like I can safely assume that anyone who’s had a dachshund as a pet has a ton of great material for a memoir! I can’t wait to read this memoir, which I’m sure will be a riot.

This-Song-Will-Save-Your-Life- 2. This Song Will Save Your Life by Leila Sales

Actually, I can’t believe I haven’t read this book yet. It’s gotten such amazing publicity and it sounds like something I’d love. Full disclosure: I’ve stingily renewed this book the max number of times from my library. I obviously need my own copy so that the library one will be available for other patrons!

,

godsandmonsters

1.Dreams of Gods and Monsters by Laini Taylor

So I know this one hasn’t been released yet. But if it’s Santa we’re talking about, I figure he and his elves can finagle some sort of early-release ARC or something for me. 🙂

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I Wouldn’t Mind Santa Bringing Me

  1. My students love Gidwitz’s trilogy, I read the first book and it was a fun read…not too deep, though! Thanks for your reviews. Keep it up; I need all the help I can get!

Leave a Reply

