Top Ten Resolutions for 2014

Rx

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish!

Top 10 Resolutions for 2014

To liven this post up, I’ve exploited my dog enlisted the help of my dog, Beau.

Photo on 2011-02-21 at 16.13

10. Blog at least once per week

I’m really new to blogging, and I think I’m off to a decent start. However, winter break is now over and grad school will start up again, too. Things will get crazy-busy fast, and I’d like to keep this thing going.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

9. Read more physical books that I already own

I know this probably sounds like kind of a strange goal, but here’s the thing: I have a big classroom library. I have not even come close to reading everything I offer my students. Instead of constantly buying new books, checking out books from the library, or reading stuff I only have on my Kindle, I’m going to make an effort to get through more of the stuff I already own. In fact, I joined a reading challenge where I’ll track it!

IMG_0559.

8. Spend less money on books!

I think I’m just a few novels shy of being a full-on book hoarder.  I own many, many books that are just sitting, waiting to be read. I will focus on avoiding Half Price Books and Amazon for awhile.

7. Work out more

This should be an easy one, since my workout tally from the last few months has been…zero. Yikes. I’m going to aim for completing at least three workout classes per week.

6. Eat healthier

I will cook more often, and use more veggies and lean meat. And less cheese and butter (as much as it pains me to write that!)

IMG_0065

I love fruit, so more of that, too. 🙂

5. Drink more water

I seriously dislike drinking water. I know that’s weird and I don’t know why, but I’ve always been that way. I will shoot for that ‘8 glasses a day’ goal this year.

4. Keep my life balanced

At times this last semester, it was really difficult for me to juggle school-related work, grad school, family life, social life, and personal time. I can’t let myself neglect my family or friends. I’ve heard of actually writing out a social schedule and keeping to those things like one would to appointments or important meetings. I might need to do that!

IMG_0106

3. Chip away at my TBR list!

324 books and counting. Seriously. It is out. Of. Control!  I joined a TBR reading challenge to try to focus on whittling this down to a more manageable and less insane number.

IMG_0525

2. Read 100 books in 2014

I’m a pretty slow reader, so this is a pretty big number for me to shoot for.  But I think it’s important for me to read as much as I can as an English teacher and possible future librarian. I need to know what titles are out there for recommendations and instructional ideas.

1. Help my students set and reach reading goals.

I had students set independent reading goals for first semester, but we got a late start on it, and there were lots of details that weren’t ever totally hammered out. I didn’t end up liking how it turned out, and we didn’t do much with the goals. I think for second semester that I’ll help my students set goals related to the number of books they will read. For next year, I’d like to expand the goals to incorporate reading skills, wide reading, or other reading traits that students want to gain.

I would love to hear what your goals are, and if you have any great advice for me in reaching my goals! 🙂

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Resolutions for 2014

Leave a Reply

