Top Ten Anticipated 2014 Debuts

Rx

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish!

Top 10 2014 Debuts

I interpreted this as 2014 debuts by debut authors. It’d definitely be a challenge for me to read these, because I tend to stick to my comfort zone – my favorite authors in my favorite genres, or new books I’ve relied on others trying and loving before me. 🙂

SteeringTowardNormal10. Steering Toward Normal by Rebecca Petruck

Really Brief Synopsis: Drama abounds at the Minnesota State Fair when Diggy and Wayne discover they are half brothers.

Why I Want to Read It: This story looks to be a great combination of silly/humorous and dramatic.  I hate to put too much (or any) faith in a book based on its cover, but c’mon. Look at that thing. I love it!

ninja9. The Ninja Librarians by Jennifer Swann Downey

Really Brief Synopsis: Middle grade novel about siblings who inadvertently discover a secret society of ninja librarians who protect free speech.

Why I Want to Read It: I mean, ninja librarians. NINJA librarians.

.

breakfast8. Breakfast Served Anytime by Sarah Combs 

Really Brief Synopsis: A teen girl goes to a camp for talented and gifted high schoolers after her grandmother passes away.

Why I Want to Read It: Well, it has ‘breakfast’ in the title is one. Also, it features a protagonist who is labeled as ‘talented and gifted’; for several years, I’ve taught gifted students, and I’m always looking for more books with characters they can relate to (in this aspect, anyway)..

caminar7. Caminar by Skila Brown

Really Brief Synopsis: A novel in verse about a boy trying to survive Guatemala’s civil war.

Why I Want to Read It: I’d like to read more novels in verse; the more I try written in this style, the more I like and the more I like poetry in general. History and poetry are two genres I want my students to try out more, as well.

doll6. Dollbaby by Laura Lane McNeal

Really Brief Synopsis: A girl moves in with her grandmother during the Civil Rights era and discovers her family has many unexpected secrets.

Why I Want to Read It: I feel like I don’t read enough historical fiction. I’m not sure why because many of my favorite books of all time come from that genre.  Although this is more of an adult historical fiction novel, those that tell more of a coming-of-age story sometimes translate to teen readers.

pointe5. Pointe by Brandy Colbert

Really Brief Synopsis: Theo, a serious ballerina, is conflicted about how to help her friend Donovan when he comes back into her life after being abducted.

Why I Want to Read It: I used to dance but don’t really anymore. I have yet to find a really fantastic book that features a dancer. Maybe this will be the one! Also, I have tons of students who are really serious about dance, and I think they would appreciate a good dance-focused fiction novel as much as me.

falconer4. The Falconer by Elizabeth May

Really Brief Synopsis: In 19th century Scotland, Lady Aileana Kameron balances her social life with faery slaying.

Why I Want to Read It: For some reason, I’m eagerly anticipating multiple books that have some strong similarities (or at least it seems that way) to Graceling by Kristin Cashore. But that makes sense because I loved that book, my girl and boy students loved that book, and I haven’t read anything like it in quite a while. Hopefully The Falconer lives up to the high bar that story set.

end times3. End Times by Anna Schumacher

Really Brief Synopsis: Strange things are happening in Daphne’s new Wyoming town. Locals claim it’s the end of the world. Is there another explanation?

Why I Want to Read It: The setting, a Wyoming boomtown, is one that would be totally new to me. I’m also intrigued by the idea of a town taken with the idea of the Rapture approaching. There is something about religious extremism in fiction that fascinates me. My students and I love dystopian and apocalyptic fiction, too.

 Night and Fog2. Prisoner of Night and Fog by Anne Blankman

Really Brief Synopsis: A teen girl growing up in 1930s Germany finds out there may be more to the story of her father’s death: Was he really sacrificing himself to protect Hitler?

Why I Want to Read It: I have a DRC of Prisoner of Night, and the first few chapters have me really impressed.  I have some other titles I have to read first, but I can’t wait to get back to it. Blankman is a pretty obviously talented writer. My students read any and everything dealing with WWII that they can get their hands on. I like Blankman’s unique angle, and I hope she’s pulled it off!

Cruel Beauty1. Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge

Really Brief Synopsis: Nyx and Ignifex are characters in a twist on Beauty and the Beast, but with romance and assassins!

Why I Want to Read It: Publishers are touting this as, “Graceling meets Beauty and the Beast.” I loved Graceling, and Beauty and the Beast happens to be my favorite Disney movie. 🙂 Mostly, what grabbed my attention is that Nyx, the “Belle” of the story, is a trained assassin who is expected to seduce then murder the “Beast” character. Love a good badass chick story, and I sure wouldn’t mind having more titles with these types of protagonists for my students to read.

What debuts are you or your students looking forward to this year? Any of these that you’ve already read?

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Anticipated 2014 Debuts

  1. Thanks for this list! Some of your titles were on my as well, but some weren’t and I will be adding to my TBR. Really excited about The Ninja Librarians–love that cover! I think there are some great titles coming out in 2014–it should be a fantastic year of reading.

    • I agree – looks like some great debuts for this year! And I will admit that a little part of my top ten selection had to do with the covers. But only a little. 😉

Leave a comment